30 Days of TV Meme – Day 4

You haven’t really thought that I’d just post that day 3 non-entry and make a run?

So, let’s move on to day 4: Day 04 – Your favorite show ever

I take this means watching reruns. And being hip-deep in fandom. Which unfortunately counters my first instinct to say ST:TOS even though Kirk and Spock seem to have been something to watch since childhood.

So let’s talk addiction. Of the insane and unhealthy kind.

My first involvement with fandom was due to a particular pairing, so that one’s out as well, as we’re looking for a show here, not for a OTP. The same probably goes for yet another show, which most likely leaves us with

The X-Files

If you’re surprised by that choice: So am I. If you had asked me for a favorite show, I probably wouldn’t have mentioned it. But it is the show that for the longest amount of time had been able to hold my attention and develop their recurring charcacters.

(I’ll happily ignore the last few seasons: As we all know – Denial is a river in egypt.)

It not only works because of Mulder and Scully (or Mulder and Skinner and Kryczeck … Kryzek … Kryzeck … darn: Ratboy), but also the villains, The Lone Gunman, that worm-guy, the cirgarette-smoking-man, etc – simply all the recurring characters that gain in depth each time they return.

The overall writing is great and I think it was the first time that it was admitted and sometimes even acknowledged by in-jokes, that the writers and the audience formed a community on the internet.

Of course I loved it not only for it’s pull but also for its very lively and creative fandom. (I actually managed to sell some fandom-related articles to magazines at the time. Including some impressive fan-art that led to one magazine receiving – for the first time they claimed – requests for having the cover available as a poster).

No doubt – the show should have been cancelled while it was still fun to watch (the experience of the show’s slow demise has made me so much more lenient when it comes to cancellations of shows I love).

I also hated Scully’s cancer as much as her pregnancy as both were not taken seriously and basically, since the invention of daily soaps, both must be the lamest available plot devices for female characters on TV. Of course I was bored by all the aliens (grey, green, liquid and otherwise) that eventually crept out of plot hole Chris Carter would encounter. But I still love the show for its sheer range of entertainment.

One thought on “30 Days of TV Meme – Day 4

Leave a Reply

