A Show That Never Should Have Been Cancelled

At first I thought “oh, that’s an easy one”, as there’s a host of shows that I loved and that eventually were cancelled.

Now, the problem is: I clearly remember shows that I once loved and sometimes kept watching even when the script quality and freshness had cooled down – but I remember them for hoping that there wouldn’t be another half-arsed series attached to the misery.

Seriously: I was hoping for Spike to run into a stake and eventually I wasn’t even willing to hope for some aliens (of whatever color or form) to bring an end to the X-Files.

Then there was Babylon 5, with its powerful arc and multi-layered plot, but it definitely would have profited if JMS hadn’t got that last minute (or actually “past last minute”) call that there would actually be another season. He *was* already bringing the plot to a rushed close, and rushing the showdown first and then padding it later didn’t do the show much good.

Killa (I haven’t made my mind up on linking to strictly fannish blogs from here, so there’s no link for now. I’ll probably ask first – not for paranoia but for the fact that trolls happen and Killa had her share of troll trouble already), anyway, Killa said: Odyssesy 5.

Yes! … and no. It’s one of those shows with a great first season (and as great minds think alike I only recently moved it to the DVD-player in the livingroom), but I’m fairly sure that season 2 or 3 would have sucked like a tornado.

Shows that worked and that were cancelled nevertheless: Fame, oh – and of course Highlander: It had a weak start, but with Methos the show prospered and gained in depth and quality. They could have added another season or two, but then they might have ended up like the X-Files, probably with character assassination to boot. Better a living immortal with questionable morals than a botched addition to his backstory.

OK, before this blog entry morphes into a full-blown rant:

SPACE PATROL

I say that Space Patrol (better known under it’s original title: Raumpatrouille Orion) shouldn’t have been cancelled.

A – probably fan-made – English version of the “movie” Trailer:

It’s not German patriotism that’s speaking here, it’s just that while German productions often were painfully “artistic” and intellectual or are equally painfully “mainstream, modern and full of action”, Space Patrol always stood out in its quality, self-assuredness and guts.

It’s one of the shows that is ageing beautifully and still has a huge cult following that’s even increasing as buying obscure shows on DVD internationally becomes more mainstream.

Space Patrol is older than Star Trek, has female characters who out-captain the Captain and enough wonky special effects to keep the geeks busy.

Last not least there’s the phantastic soundtrack by Peter Thomas Sound Orchester and the equally amazing dancing styles (seen at the bar where the crew hangs out after duty).

With only seven shows – in the early 2000s all of them got butchered into a 90 min film-release that’s better ignored – the show died far too young.

My father used to watch the re-runs of Raumpatrouille Orion with me, just like he introduced me to “Raumschiff Enterprise” (StarTrek:TOS). So I guess that this is my original poison.

Let’s add some YouTube vids, even when linking to YouTube often enough is an exercise in futility:

The famous and much-remixed opening tune:

Some Orion dancing:

One thought on “A Show That Never Should Have Been Cancelled

  1. Yes, I know this one. And the dancing was really weird. Watching it again the structure reminds me of some folklore dancing I once did (I don’t remember the name of the dance) even though the movements are far more complicated and ridiculous. But the structure: Men and women in a circle, bowing to their neighbours, walking to the center of their circle and then again to their original place – that’s pretty much like folklore dancing.

Leave a Reply

